2023-2024 Elected Board Members

President: Lillian Powell

President-Elect: Elena Baykal

Elena Baykal joined ASMC in the fall of 2011 and enjoys being active with the Chapter. Elena has Master of Accountancy from Cleveland State University.
Previously worked for a CPA firm and joined DFAS in 2009. Outside of work, Elena enjoys traveling and eating tasty cuisines.

Vice President of Membership: Jacqueline McKown

Jacqueline McKown  

started with DFAS Cleveland in 2013 as a part-time Member Care Representative then

went full time in December of 2015.  At this time, she was appointed the position of Accounting Technician for Disbursing Department of DFAS.  June of 2016 Jacqueline accepted a promotion to Lead Accounting Technician for Disbursing.  Then she became a member of the ASMC Cleveland Chapter and appointed the position of Vice President of Programs.   In June of 2018, she accepted an appointment as Supervisory Accounting Technical in Accounts Payable Prevalidation for DFAS.  As of March 2021, she has transitioned to the position as Supervisory Accounting Technician for Accounts Payable of Unmatched Disbursements Marine Corp. for DFAS.

Prior to working at DFAS, Jacqueline was an Executive Administrative Officer for a Privately Owned Company for over 15 years.  She also took multiple Business and Accounting courses locally.  She had an interest in learning the Insurance Industry and worked part-time with Nationwide Insurance for 8 years.

While working full-time and raising a family with two children, her weekends were filled with camping and fishing at our Ohio surrounding Islands.

Vice President of Programs:  Jeannine Anderson

Jeannine Anderson 

is an Accountant in Departmental Reporting at DFAS Cleveland and became a member of ASMC in December 2014 via the Buckeye Chapter based at DFAS Columbus. She then became a member of the Cleveland Chapter in January 2018 and has been actively involved on the Programs Committee.

Jeannine joined DFAS in January 2010 as an Accountant in the Leaders in Motion (LIM) program at DFAS Columbus were she completed rotations in Accounts Payable, AM&C- Reports and Analysis, and Audit Readiness. She then transferred to DFAS Cleveland in January 2018 and works in Departmental Reporting.

Jeannine obtained her bachelors’ degrees in Accounting, Business Administration, and Economics from Franklin University and the University of Pittsburgh. She then obtained her master’s degree in Public Administration from Central Michigan University. In addition, Jeannine has also earned the Certified Defense Financial Manager and Lean Six Sigma Green Belt Certifications.

Jeannine has previously been involved with Toastmasters, where she served as Vice President of Membership and with the National Association of Black Accountants, where she served as the Columbus Professional chapter’s vice president and treasurer and was involved in community service events and planning programs.  She has also been actively involved with her church, Vineyard Columbus, where she co-led a grief / loss support group and volunteered in the nursery. 

Vice President of Nominations: Victoria Nord

Victoria Nord joined DFAS Cleveland in 2017 as an accounting intern in the Customer Care Center, and transitioned to the LIM program in Accounts Maintenance and Control (AM&C). After graduating the LIM program she currently serves as an accountant for AM&C.

Victoria has been a member of ASMC since 2018. She has served her Cleveland chapter by being a member of the CDFM committee. She looks forward to the opportunity to become more involved within the Cleveland Chapter.

Victoria is a graduate of Youngstown State University with a Bachelors in Accounting, and currently pursuing a Masters in Accounting from Franklin State University. She has earned the Certified Defense Financial Management (CDFM) certification.

Outside of the office, Victoria enjoys spending time outdoors with her husband, Scott as well as hanging out with family and friends. Hobbies include: hiking, reading, disc golf, yoga, playing with my dogs (Daisy and Remi), and cooking. 

Treasurer: Whitney Joy

Whitney Joy joined DFAS Cleveland in 2015 as a Financial Analyst in Military Pay. Currently, she is a Financial Analyst and Project Manager for the Customer Experience Team (CXT) in IT. Before joining DFAS, Whitney was a Public Affairs Trainee for the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Food Safety and Inspection Service in Washington, DC.

Whitney holds a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Youngstown State University and a Master of Public Administration in Public Management from Kent State University.

Whitney has been a member of ASMC Cleveland Chapter since 2017. She has served on the Treasury Committee for three years. She looks forward to the opportunity to increase her involvement within the Cleveland Chapter.

Outside of work, Whitney enjoys spending time with her fiancé, Anthony, their two children, Lucia and Dante, and their dog, Zoey. 

Secretary: Julie Pfaff

Julie Pfaff began her career at DFAS in January 2010 as a first line supervisor, PMO Director and Director of Operations in the Cleveland Customer Care Center.  She completed the Federal Executive Board’s “Cleveland Federal Community Leadership Institute” in 2015 and DFAS’s Enterprise Leadership Program in 2021.  Julie is a 2020 graduate of Ashford University  with a Bachelor’s Degree in Accounting.  She resides in Lagrange with her husband and 2 daughters. 

2021- 2022 Committee Members